top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Tilley

About Me

Updated: May 14, 2019


My name is Emily. I live in Arkansas with my husband Mason and my four children Aiden, Gavin, Harley, and Finn.


I am passionate about writing and helping others. I have been writing short stories for 14 years, but this is the first time I have gone public with my writing.


In August of 2014, I unexpectedly started using methamphetamine. It completely turned my world upside down. I lost everything, including myself. This blog will share the story of how my addiction came to be and the trials that went along with the experience. Each post will have trigger warnings if needed.


With the help of my husband and incredible willpower, I started recovery on February 12th, 2015. I told myself that I didn't want to be high on Valentine's day so that I could really spend the day with my boyfriend (now husband). I also made a deal with one of my best friends. We promised each other that if we weren't clean by Valentine's day, we'd go to rehab together. Unfortunately, he never got clean. He is the only one left that I still speak to. I will go on more about him further into the story.


The journey was a struggle, but ultimately it was a beautiful, life-changing experience. I have chosen to share my story, through all of the bad and good, in hopes to educate and heal others impacted by substance abuse and addiction.


My ultimate dream goal from this blog is to have a book published. It's my dream to become a published author! Writing is my passion. I could get lost in it for hours.


About my writing style:

In my story, there is a lot of conversation. Now, I can't remember why I went into the kitchen most days, but I have a great memory when it comes to conversations. I can honestly say 95% of the conversations you read in my story are exactly as it was said. I kept the personalities the same, but the names have been changed to protect the identities of each person in my story.


Sometimes it may sound repetitive, silly or like nonsense, but it was how it was said in real life. There may be some filler text, but I did not fully change what each person said or did. I vividly remember each scenario. My addiction only lasted for 6 months, so it's easy for me to recall each situation as it happened.


Thank you to my friends, family and internet family for all of your incredible support while on this journey. Never once have any of you judged me for my past. Everyone has been so kind and loving. Your support means everything to me.



55 views0 comments
bottom of page