top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Tilley

Chapter 16 - You can run, but you can't hide

Before I start this chapter, I just want to say that a lot of the stories going forward won't be in order. To explain, I know what happened until I met this person, or had this experience, but I don't remember when. I did realize A LOT happened in just a few months. Here's one of the next stories, and my favorite one from when I was using.


 

🔴 TRIGGER WARNING - DRUG USE & EXPLICIT VIOLENCE🔴


Matt and I met up again after he went MIA for a while. We smoked and drove around town until we ran through everything we had. We were brainstorming, trying to find our next high, but neither of us had any money and nothing to bump off. He had me pull over at a Mexican grocery store where he could sit outside and use their WiFi.


We sat down on the pavement next to an old, loud AC unit. We were just close enough to get a signal, but not close enough to be shooed off by the owners. I looked down at my dirty boots and kicked some rocks out of the way while Matt was on his phone. The sun was beating down on us and although it had to be in the high 90's, the heat didn't really bother us when we were high.


"I know a guy who has some dope, he just messaged me. He won't front me though."


"Nope. There's no way in hell I am doing a front dude," I said as I stood up. "I'm not getting caught up in something I can't guarantee I can fix."


"Well I guess we just aren't getting high."


"No! Uh, wait. What's today?"


"The fuck if I know."


"Your phone? It shows the date somewhere I'm sure."


"Oh, shit. Uh, it's the 12th."


"I don't suppose he takes food stamps," I said with a laugh.


"Yeah he does actually."


"Are you serious? A dope dealer takes food stamps? Why? He doesn't even eat!"


"Gotta eat every once in a while. Why? You got food stamps?"


"I get them every 12th day of the month. I get like, $400 for the kids. But I've got to make sure my kids get fed man, I can't spend it all on dope."


Matt was staring off into the distance. I could tell he was thinking of a plan. I started to feel guilty knowing that I was taking food from my family to get my fix, but I wouldn't spend much. Maybe $50? $100 at the most. I'd still have enough left.


Matt was typing away at his phone as I walked in circles watching the cars pass me by. There was a couple walking down the sidewalk who looked over at us and quickly walked the other way. Did we really look that threatening? Homeless maybe, but not threatening.


"Got it! He can hook us up, but I have to do it. Alone."


"Why alone?"


"He's just shady and he makes it in his kitchen so his house is kind of sketchy. It's red dope so it's going to be good, but he just doesn't like meeting new people. He's a big time guy in town and he only deals with certain people." He got up and walked up to me. "You trust me, don't you?"


He looked at me with his big blue eyes, trying his hardest to show sincerity.


"Yeah... I guess."


"I haven't steered you wrong yet, have I?"


"I mean, you help me get high, so..."


"Hey, don't make me feel bad."


"Yeah, yeah, I trust you. Just no more than $100, please. I've got to buy my kids lunches for school. That's all I've got. Don't fuck me over, okay?"


He looked me in the eyes, "I promise," he said.


"Okay. I'll be waiting in the car, let me know what the plan is."


I walked over and got in the car. I grabbed the EBT card from my purse and held it in my hands for a moment, thinking about really going through with this or not. I had no other way to get dope, and if he wanted to get high, he wouldn't fuck me over.


The passenger door swung opened and Matt got in.


"Okay, you're going to have to drop me off far from his house. I'll walk the rest of the way. Just drive over by the Greenview apartments and I'll get out there. It shouldn't take but a few hours."


"Ok, let me know when you're done and I'll pick you back up. I have to have that card back tonight."


"I got you. Promise."


I handed the card to him and we started to drive across town. I trusted him. He's been really good to me so far, so I knew he wouldn't screw me over.

 

"You did WHAT?!" Michael yelled as he threw his hands up in the air and stomped across his apartment.


"He promised me he would bring it back!" I said as I sat on the end of his bed, watching him flip out.


"Dude, Emily. He's not going to bring it back! I would bet you money if you had any. He's a sociopath and a manipulator. Look, I don't even care that you are getting high at this point. How fucking stupid can you be? I thought you were smarter than that!"


"Well, I trust him. He's not going to fuck me over. We're tight."


"Yeah, he's tight with me too and he ran off when the cops showed up to a party we were at and left me with all the dope!"


"Well, that's fucked up, but still."


He sat down and looked over at me with his usual disapproving look. "You're high as shit. Of course you aren't going to listen to me."


"I'm listening, I just have a feeling that it's going to be alright."


"Tweakers have no feelings," he said as he got up and walked into the kitchen.


"Rude," I said.


Michael leaned over the cabinet and looked out of the window. He didn't say anything for a while. It had only been an hour since I dropped him off. I text him just to make sure he made it okay.


"Hey, you make it there?" I said. A few minutes passed with no response. Maybe he's just not near WiFi.


"Hey," Michael said. "Let's go walk downtown for a while while you're waiting on him. Let's at least be productive."


"Sounds great!"


Michael grabbed his embarrassingly large walking stick and we headed out to town. We walked down the sidewalks, checked out the alleys and bridges where the homeless stayed, and listened to some guy with a guitar who couldn't sing. I grabbed my phone to check on Matt, but still no text.


It had been over 2 hours now. Maybe he had to find a ride to the store? I wasn't sure, but it was after 5:00 in the afternoon, and I needed my card back tonight, so I sent him another text.


"Just making sure you're okay."


He texted me back quickly, and put my mind at ease for a bit.


"I'm here. He's at the store. I'll let you know when he gets back."


"Wait, why did you send him alone with my card?"


No response. I was a little pissed off that he sent someone else with my EBT card alone to the store, but there was nothing I could do now.


Michael looked back at me and he could tell I was mad. "What happened? Did he lie to you like I said he would?"


"No! He just sent dude to the store with my card by himself!"


"Wasn't that the plan?"


"No! I don't know! I mean, I thought he would at least go with him. All of my food stamps are in the hands of some shady ass drug dealer I don't know."


"Well, that's kind of how this shit goes. Before all this, I was strung out on crack for 3 years. This isn't any different."


"Whatever."


We kept walking through town as the hours passed. We were headed back to his house as the sun started to set. He was playing Hozier from his phone and I was dancing down the sidewalk. Michael was laughing as I tried to sing along to a song I didn't know. It was nice to have some time with him again when we weren't arguing.


We walked into his apartment and I pulled out my phone. No text, no missed calls, nothing. I text him again.


"Hey, it's getting late, I need to get my card back. Are ya'll done?"


My phone binged a response: "He's cooking."


"The fuck does that mean?" I said out loud as I showed my phone to Michael. "Are they having a nice candle lit dinner while I wait? What the fuck?"


"No Toast," he rolled his eyes. "He's probably cooking dope."


"Oh. Right."


I text him back again, "I thought you said he had some already?"


No response. "Fuck!" I yelled.


"I told you," Michael said from across the room.


"Fuck off dude. I need my card back. Tonight. I've got to get food for the kids."


"You didn't even get food yet?!"


"No! I just got them today."


"Report your card stolen and get a new one."


"But, that's going to take weeks!"


"Toast, I don't know what else to tell you."


I grabbed my phone and text him again. "Dope or not, I need my card. Can I come get it? I can get dope later."


Still, no response. I got on Facebook, tagged him in post, wrote on his timeline, messaged him through there. Still there was nothing. I started to panic as the hours kept creeping by and there was no response. It was almost midnight now. I started to realize that he really did play me. I felt hurt and mad.


"Dude. What do I do? I don't even know where he is. Like, I'm okay if he fucks me over, but now it's fucking my kids over, and that's not okay."


My phone started to ring, but it was my grandma. "Shit! I never told her where I was!" I thought.


"Hey Memaw! I'm so sorry!"


"Emily!" She yelled, "Where are you!"


"I'm sorry Memaw, I'm at Michael's house. I got my purse stolen downtown and we've been trying to find it! Some guy just ran up and took it. We've been searching all over and I forgot to call."


"Your purse got stolen?"


"Yeah, and it had the food stamp card in it, so I'm trying to find it because the kids need food!"


"Did you tell the police?"


"Yeah, but there's only so much they can do. I'm just staying here tonight, I'm too tired to drive home."


"Okay, call me when you wake up. Please."


"I will. I love you."


"Love you too."


I hung up the phone and looked at a very confused Michael.


"Your purse got stolen?"


"Look, I'm not about to tell my grandma I just sold my food stamps for meth!"


"I don't blame you there. So, what's your plan?"


"I'm going to find him. I'm going to get my shit back."


"Oh I love it when you're mad. It's sexy."


"Shut up! No one fucks with my kids, dude. Fuck with me all day, but leave my kids alone. I told him it was for them. He knew that."


My phone dinged. It was Matt.


"You need to stop." it read.


"I NEED MY SHIT BACK MATT. NOW." I replied.


I went back to Facebook, but he blocked me. I became livid. I tried to call, but it would ring until it got to his voicemail. I called him for over an hour straight until he turned his phone off. It didn't ring anymore, it just went straight to his voicemail.


I threw my phone at the wall and slumped down on his couch.


"We have to find him. I'm not giving up until I do."


"What if you find him and he doesn't have it?"


"I'll make him find it. He will give it to me."


"Toast, you don't know the people he knows. You could get caught up in something bad."


"Then fucking bring it. I'm not afraid."


 

Michael fell asleep and I stayed up all night thinking of ways to get to Matt. I messaged Ethan, but I didn't get a response from him either. Ty didn't know him, and I didn't know anyone else he knew. I couldn't even see his mutual friends on Facebook since he blocked Michael too. My high was gone and I was tired, but I was fueled by hatred. I would find him, and I would get what was mine. I wouldn't stop until I did.


Michael woke up around 9:00 and made us some coffee. He forced me to eat some weird concoction of eggs, sweet potatoes, and sriracha.


"So I saw that he blocked me too," Michael said in between bites.


"Yeah."


"He's scared."


"What?"


"He's a pussy, Toast. He's a runner. He hates confrontation."


"Then why would he do this?"


"He probably thinks you won't do anything."


I laughed, "Well sucks for him, because I'm going to beat him black and blue!"


"Can I join?" He asked, a little more excited than I expected.


"Oh absolutely. Oh! Can I use your baseball bat? Please!?"


"Hell yes!" he said.


"So, we just have to find him. None of the other dealers I know are messaging me back, but I kind of expected that."


"How many dope dealers do you know?"


"Don't worry about it. Look, I stayed up all night and I haven't come up with a plan. Maybe we can walk downtown and see if he shows up? He's always down there, isn't he?"


"Yeah, but if he's hiding he won't be."


"It's worth a shot."


We finished breakfast and I called my grandma before things got too hectic. I told her I was going to spend the day looking for it. She seemed uneasy, but she let me stay out.


I brushed my hair and fixed my makeup while Michael took a shower. I sat on his bed holding the metal baseball bat in my hands. I imagined finding him, breaking his knee caps in, and leaving him to suffer. I wasn't going to let him get away with this. I would make sure everyone knew that I wasn't the one to mess with.

 

We spent our day searching the downtown area for Matt. We walked into stores where Michael knew some people Matt knew, but none of them had any idea where he was. Most of them haven't talked to him in years. Sadly, Michael wouldn't let me walk around with his baseball bat, so I felt like my part was done poorly.


Hours after looking and walking, we sat down on a park bench. I laid my head in my hands, feeling hopeless.


"You giving up?" Michael asked.


"No! I'm just... tired. I'm mad. I'm worried. I've got a lot of emotions to process. Plus I'm coming down off of a two day high. I'm a little sketched right now."


"Two days? Jesus Christ, Toast. Drink some damn water."


He handed me a water bottle we had filled up at the spring. I drank it down and watched the hotel entrance across the street for anyone that resembled him.


"Damn, look at her ass."


"Michael, this is not the time to stare... Okay, it's a nice ass, but this is NOT the time to stare at girls."


"Fine! You know, she kind of looks like that one girl he was talking to. That red headed girl... OH MY GOD TOAST! That's it!"


"What!"


"I have a plan."


"Well tell me!"


"We find Lizzy, I think that's her name. Anyways, we find her and use her as a trap. We get her to bring him over to her house and we jump him."


"That sounds good and all, but do you think she's down for it?"


"You never know until you ask."


 

"So, let me get this straight. He stole your food stamp card, which he knew was for your kids. He's ran off, blocked you on Facebook, and now he's MIA. So you want me to lure him in, like, for a date, so you can beat the hell out of him? I'm in."


"I love you!" I yelled as I jumped up and down.


Michael was able to find Lizzy pretty easily. He had her number from when Matt used his phone and she answered as soon as he called. I was starting to feel some hope that this may work out. We may actually get him.


Lizzy was a young, skinny, red hared girl with a passion for skateboarding. She was tough and didn't take anyone's shit. I didn't know her well, but I liked her already. Apparently, Matt had been seeing her for a while until he found out how old she was. There was a good 10 year age difference.


"Okay, so come over around 7:00 and I'll try to get him to come over. I live in the blue street apartments, number 9 on the top floor. You can't get in without a code, so let me know when you're there."


"We will. I can't thank you enough."


"I don't like violence, but I'm not going to let anyone hurt anyone's kids."


"We'll be over in a little while," said Michael as he hung up the phone. He looked over at me, "Well, let's go get ready to kick his ass."


We walked back to his apartment while talking out a plan. I was overwhelmed with relief. I was just praying that this worked. It was our only shot.


Once we got back, I put N.W.A. on the speakers and we started jamming out. I laced up my boots, pulled my hair back, and grabbed the baseball bat.


"I'm going to bash his fucking knee caps in. He can't run away anymore if he can't walk." I swung it around the living room a bit, imagining what tonight held for us.


"I want to beat him up, not kill him. I mean, you might kill him Toast. I know you when you're angry. Might want to leave the bat here."


I looked down at the baseball bat. He was right. I wasn't looking for a murder charge, so I threw it down on the floor.


"Well, at the least I'm taking my chains. I'll wrap them around my hands."


"That's better. Man, Toast. I'm actually excited! I haven't been in a fight in years."


"Me too, dude. Me too."


 

Blue street was only a few blocks from his house, so we walked over so that he wouldn't see my car and leave. We arrived at an old white building with a small sign that lit up in neon "Blue Street Apartments: No Vacancy". Michael called Lizzy and she came down to open the door for us. We walked up to her apartment and we were greeted by her mom.


"So I hear Matt fucked you over. I never liked that guy. I'll be rooting for you!" She said as she put her cigarette out in an overflowing ashtray.


"Thanks, ma'am," I said with a laugh. It was kind of weird to see a grown adult cheering on a fight, but I liked it.


We walked back to Lizzy's room. It was just big enough for a twin bed and two chairs. We all sat down and made a plan.


"Okay," said Michael, "let's say we get him here. What next?"


"Let me lead him up to my apartment. Toast, once he's at the top of the stairs, you can jump him. Michael, there's a small laundry room around the corner from the front entrance. You hide there and once he's going up the stairs, come out and block his exit. Once he's cornered, you do your thing. I'll try to make sure he can't get out."


Lizzy had it all planned out like she had done this before, and we loved it. Now we just had to have Matt take the bait. I was equally angry as I was nervous. I've never done anything like this. It seemed like a movie, like this was too good to come true. It was our only option though.


We all stepped out back to smoke while Lizzy messaged Matt. Amazingly, he texted her right back.


"Hey, are you busy tonight?" She asked.


"No, I have nothing going on. What's up?"


The fact that he acted like he had nothing going on made my blood boil. Nothing? If only he knew.


"My mom is at work all night, and my brother is at a friends house. I wanted to see if you'd come over."


"I'd love to see you again. What time?"


As soon as he sent that message, another one came through.


"Are you playing me?" he said.


I gasped. Shit, I thought. He knew. How did he know?


Her phone started to ring. It was him. Michael and I looked at each other in panic. We held our breath as she answered.


"Hello?"


"Hey baby girl. You aren't playing me are you?"


"I don't know what you mean, I just wanted to see if you'd come over. I was missing you."


"I miss you too, but Michael and Emily are mad at me over some bull shit. Are they there?"


"First of all, Michael is a creepy old man. I don't want him around me. Also, I don't know who Emily is. I just wanted you to come over, but if you don't want to..."


"No, I do. I just got to watch my back for a while."


"Well, what did you do?"


"Oh it's bull shit. They think I took something of theirs and they got pissy. I can be over there in a few minutes though."


"A few minutes? Where are you now?"


"A few blocks away at a friends house, but you're more important."


"Oh yeah? Well if that's the case, I better see you soon."


"Bet. I'm on my way."


She hung up the phone and looked at us.


"Creepy old man!?"


"Look, I had to say something! You're not creepy, but you've got to hurry. Go to the laundry room now. Listen closely for him to go up stairs. Emily, go stand in the hall."


We ran as fast as we could back inside. I took one last look at Michael. He nodded at me and disappeared. I ran up the stairs and around the corner. I wrapped the chains around my hands and held my fist as tight as I could. My heart was racing and my legs felt weak.


This was it.


I stood there for a few minutes, then I finally heard him. It was Matt. I couldn't make out what they were saying, but I heard laughter, then foot steps on the stairs. I took a deep breath and waited until he sounded close enough.


I swirled around the corner with a huge grin on my face. "Hey Matt," I said.


He looked at me. His eyes widened and the color drained from his face. He jumped the railing down to the first floor and I fled down the stairs past Lizzy. Michael came running full force and pushed him into the corner before he got to the door. I came up swinging.


I punched him in the face until my hands were bloody. He was yelling for us to stop, but Michael held him against the wall by his neck. He was growling with anger. Suddenly, a door next to us opened and a huge black man came out with a gun.


Naturally I said "Sorry! I'm taking care of something."


He rolled his eyes and shut his door.


"Fucking stop, I can't breathe!" Yelled Matt as I knocked him in the side of the head again. I stepped back and took a look at him. He had blood running from his mouth and a gash on the side of his head.


"Stop."


"Why? He doesn't deserve it!" Growled Michael as he stared Matt in the eyes.


"I said stop. I don't want to kill him."


"What the fuck!" Matt yelled as he kicked Michael. He loosened his grip, but didn't let go.


"Where is my shit Matt?" I asked sternly. Lizzy was no where to be seen. It was just the three of us, and he wasn't leaving until I had an answer.


"What the fuck is wrong with you?!"


I walked up to him and looked him in the eyes. "You fucked with my kids. That can't be forgiven. I need my shit back. Now."


"I don't have it! But I can get it. Just let me go."


"Mother fucker, I'm not letting you go. You ran from me. You promised me and I trusted you."


He looked at me with sincerity in his eyes. "I'm sorry. Look I'm about to throw up. Let me go outside, I promise I won't run away. I'll tell you what happened."


"Michael, take him outside."


He grabbed him by the shirt and we walked him outside, where he collapsed onto the side walk and started throwing up.


"Yeah! Kick his ass, girl!"


I looked up and saw Lizzy and her mom looking down from their apartment window. I gave them a thumbs up and looked back down at Matt. I sat on the ground next to him, almost feeling bad for what I did.


My hands were sore and swollen, but I didn't care.


"Why did you lie to me?" I asked.


He leaned up against the apartment building and looked over at me.


"I'm sorry. Look, I'll get it back in the morning. He's not up right now. Take my dope. It's yours anyways."


He handed me a bag full of shards. I stuck it in my pocket, not taking my eyes off of him.


Michael was pacing back and forth, fuming and cussing. "Don't fuck with her, I will fuck you up, I swear to god!"


"She already fucked me up dude!" Matt yelled at Michael.


"Don't fucking talk to me!" He yelled as he kicked him in the ribs.


"Michael quit! We got him, we beat the hell out of him. That's enough."


He walked away saying something about "no mercy".


"You want a cigarette?" I asked Matt.


"Yeah, why are you being nice to me?"


"Because contrary to what just happened, I'm not a mean person."


I took a long drag off of my cigarette and looked at him. "I'm sorry, but you messed with something for my kids. I don't care who you are, you don't get away with that."


"Yeah, I can see that."


"So how can I trust you to bring me my card back?"


Michael ran over to us. "He's staying with me, I'm locking him in my guest room."


"Whatever dude, I just want to go to sleep."


"We're going to walk you back to his house. I'm going to make sure you don't leave, then I'm going home to sleep myself. I'll be back in the morning. I'll bring you one of my shirts, I don't think blood is going to come out of that American Eagle polo."


"Yeah, whatever. I'm sorry. I fucked up."


"Yeah. You did."

 

We thanked Lizzy and her mom for the help and walked Matt back to Michael's house. Michael took his phone and shoes and barricaded him in the guest room. The windows had bars, so we knew he wasn't getting out.


I left Matt with Michael and I headed home to clean up and get some sleep. No one was awake when I got there, which saved me having to explain all of the blood. I showered and crawled into bed to finally get some rest.


Morning came and I told my grandma the police department called and they had my card, so I was going up there to get it. I grabbed my old The Devil Wears Prada shirt for Matt and headed back over to Michael's house.


I walked in his apartment, but Matt's door was open and Michael was still asleep on his bed. I walked into the living room to see Matt with an ice pack on his head.


"Morning sunshine," I said. "I'm surprised you didn't leave."


"I'm not leaving. I'm not getting hunted down by you again."


I laughed at the thought of someone actually fearing me. It was unlike anything I've experienced before, but I liked it.


"You want to smoke some before Michael wakes up?"


"You're going to share with me?"


"I don't like to smoke alone. Come on ol' cripple."


He hobbled into the guest bedroom, still bloody and newly bruised. We shared a small bowl to wake us up before I actually woke up Michael.


"Do you have to wake him up?" he asked.


"Kind of. He has your phone and shoes and I don't see them anywhere."


He let out a grunt as he laid back on the guest bed.


"Hey creepy old man, wake up," I said as I nudged Michael. "I need his shit so I can go get mine."


"It's in the sink, under the dishes," he said as he rolled back over and started snoring again.


"Alright then." I walked into the kitchen and lifted up a pile of dirty dishes to find Matt's stuff. "Interesting place to hide stuff," I thought to myself.


"Tell him we're coming over," I said as I threw Matt his phone and shoes.


"You got a shirt for me?"


"I do. But I want you to wear that one over there. Just so they know what's up."


"You've got to be kidding me"


"You want that white shirt to be completely red, or do you want to leave it like it is?"


"Alright, damn."


He got dressed and we headed to my car. I walked him to the back and child locked the doors so he wouldn't leave.


"Is that necessary?" he asked.


"After the shit you pulled, yes. Now where are we going."


"Go to Ethan's."


"You son of a bitch, you were at Ethan's?"


"Just go."


We drove down the road a ways until I was parked directly in front of his house.


"You have 5 minutes, or I'm coming in myself," I told him as I let him out of the car.


I watched him walk up the steps and into the house. My eyes didn't leave the door. Sure, he could leave through the back, but he wouldn't get very far in his condition.


Minutes later he came back with my card in his hand. He climbed in the front seat and handed it over. It had scratches all over it, but it was mine.


"So, Ethan had it. Is this where you went yesterday?"


"I'm not talking about it. You can ask him. You got your card back, okay?"


"Yeah, but I need to know what's on it."


We sat in the car as I called the EBT number. I put it on speaker and I watched as Matt looked uneasy.


"Your EBT account balance is $2.07," the automated system said.


I almost dropped my phone and my heart shattered. How did they spend $400 in one night?


"I can't feed my kids," I said as I started crying. "What am I going to do!" I yelled.


"That's my fault," said Matt. "I didn't go with them. I promise, I told them $100. That's why I ran off. I'll make it up to you."


"You owe me $300 in dope or cash. You better fucking figure it out."


"I'll figure it out. I promise."


"I can't trust your promises anymore. Prove it to me."


"I will, just take me back to Michael's and I'll figure it out."


We went back to think of a plan, but all he could manage was more drugs. Nothing to help my kids. I had to go home to explain to my grandma that we had no money. Somehow it all got spent by whoever took my card. I wasn't sure how to explain that part to her, but I'd figure it out.


I knew I was a worthless junkie, but now I let down my kids and that killed me the most. The money wouldn't magically come back, and I had nothing to sell to make up for it. I felt like a horrible mother. I let everyone down. I worked so hard to get my card back, but it was useless in the end.


Needless to say, I never used my food stamps for drugs ever again.


 

The end! So here's the fun little after story notes. Yes, this all played out exactly like this. YES I was a dumb ass, but I was still new to all this and I always tried to see the good in people. I never did use my food stamps for dope again. Thankfully, we made it through that month just fine. No one went hungry, except me I guess, lol. Bad joke, I'm sorry.


Tweaker terminology 101: Bump off - It basically means to trade an item or items for drugs.


So, I made a bunch of Facebook post calling him out for what he did, but sadly, I deleted them. I looked all over and I don't have any evidence of this incident, which is kind of sad because there was a lot! Spoiler alert: we did become "good" friends again and I remember him asking me to delete all the post, so I'm sure I did.


Anyways, turns out Ethan did have my card. There was no shady drug dealer. It was all Ethan, but he didn't know my last name and didn't put two and two together. He literally had a stack of EBT cards. Ethan felt horrible but he made up for it in his own way.


So yeah, this is my favorite story I'll write while I was using. Only because the whole thing played out like a movie scene. It was surreal! Like, no bull shit. This is exactly what went down. There's only one more fight in my time of using, but it's much different, and I blacked out in anger for part of it... anyways, that's way down the line.


Here's an example of Michael looking out for me. He was always telling me to drink water, even if I didn't want to.



Fun fact: I write every chapter in one sitting. This took me 6 hours!

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page