top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Tilley

Off the record #1 - The real faces of addiction

Off the record is the place for non story related content.


When I was an addict, I normally didn't look like one. Granted, some days I looked completely out of it, but more days than not, I looked like your average person. I had clean clothes on, did my hair and makeup and generally looked put together.


I realized that when most people think of a "tweaker" or a "junkie", they imagine a person with sores, no teeth, and homeless. There are a lot of addicts out there that fit in that category, but there's also many that don't.


For example, here's a picture of me deep into my addiction.


Most people didn't know what I was doing. They didn't know that I was taking apart light bulbs to smoke out of them. They couldn't tell that I had been up for three straight days. They didn't know that I was getting involved with drug dealers and gangs.


I wanted to make this video to educate others that we aren't always who you think we are.


I have met teachers, business owners, managers, family men, church goers, fathers, sons, grandmothers, cancer patients, etc., all addicted to meth. You'd never know by looking. It's not that I want to call out people who look fine, it's that I want people to understand that addiction does not discriminate.


Below is the video I made about the real faces of addiction. It's the first video I've ever made, so I apologize for the low quality.



Regardless of the things we have been through, we CAN recover.


YOU are worthy of recovery.

You ARE deserving of the life you dream to live.

Your past mistakes DO NOT define you.

You are loved.

You are incredible.

You are strong.


Each picture was used with permission. Also, for those who are interested, there is a Facebook group for active and recovering addicts and family members that is very helpful, and is a great place to express yourself, vent, and get support. Just click the link above.


They did not ask or pay me to promote their page, I chose to do so because I believe in the great things this Facebook group has done.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page