top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Tilley

Off the record #10 - Intermission

Hey everyone, I'm still recovering from my broken finger, but they freed up my hand a bit, so I can type now...Kind of. I hope you all are doing great and staying safe during this coronavirus stuff! As for me, I am working hard on getting things together and moving for my public speaking stuff and I am dedicating myself to working more on my story for you all by trying to string together a sequence of events and look into upgrading my website & blog.


I'm doing an off the record post this weekend because I don't have the proper time to dedicate to a whole chapter, plus I'm drawing a blank on what happened next. I have a whole document about what happened when and like I said, I'm still working on it by keeping it true to life, but not boring (because some stuff just isn't worth writing out), but my mind just isn't cooperating right now, so instead, I'm going to write about Ty and something that happened about two weeks ago now.


So, Ty never goes down without a fight. He's also hard to catch. Once he's running from the law, he can run for a long time, or he used to. He runs, climbs trees, hides, and always ends up in a manhunt every single time. Just like last time (See Off The Record #7).


So I got a notification the other week that he was considered absconded since he stopped meeting with his probation officer. No surprise there, but a week later, SWAT found him. It took multiple officers AND the SWAT team to get him. They said he ran into a house, refused to come out, they threw several cans of tear gas in there, yet he stayed inside. Eventually, they heard him complaining that he couldn't see of breath (like, duh dude, it's tear gas) and he said he'd come out. Well, somehow he made his way onto the roof and jumped down, fleeing into the woods shortly before they caught up to him.


My husband, who works in the detention center, got to see him in booking and the whole time he complained about this and that. He's always been a big baby for the hard-ass he is, it's kind of funny. Of course, you hurt your ankle, you jumped off a roof to run away from cops. Anyways, this stuff just always trips me out because that could have been me too. I WANTED to live that life when I was using. I wanted to get into the most dangerous things I could. I lived for the rush. The danger. A life I knew nothing about but wanted all the same.


Today, my life is so incredibly different that sometimes, it doesn't seem like it was me who actually did the things that I did. I have a great job, I have four beautiful children, I have my own car and so many other things that I was far from 5 years ago. It's easy to take it for granted. I was very fortunate to get out. Most of the people I ran with have amazingly got clean, but I know so many who are still struggling, dreaming of having what I have.


Anyways, this was just a quick catch up post while I wait to be able to use my entire hand again and can type like I used to. Also, the magazine should be coming out this week and I will share it with you as soon as I have it!


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page