top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Tilley

Off the record #7 - Making headlines

After I left the dope game, I only spoke to Ty once. He was actually doing well after being released from jail, got a job, and was living a good life. At least that's what Facebook had said. I congratulated him, and he was happy to see me doing well. After that brief interaction, I never spoke to him again.


In one of my last post, I showed an article about a manhunt that happened on New Years 2015. I saw just yesterday, that he led local police on another manhunt in 2017. I found the article and wanted to show it to you all. This was the man that taught me almost everything I knew about the dope game. This was the stuff he dragged me into on a daily basis, most of the time without my knowledge. This could have been my life.












This story is so familiar to me. I used to be his driver. I used to be the one waiting while he ran off and did God knows what. I was the getaway driver. The bag and what he had on his was basically what he always had on him. A few clothes and drugs. It's scary to me because if I hadn't gotten out when I did, that could have been me with him.


Doing drugs isn't just shooting up in the bathroom of a Wendy's. It's planned robberies. It's fucking over every single person you say you can trust. It's all for one, and none for all. It's driving around neighborhoods, watching when people leave work, who has cameras, who's on vacation, who has dogs and who doesn't. It's a lot of fucked-up strategic planning.


Meth makes you emotionless to the people you hurt. You don't care if that's all they had. You don't care if they saved up for 10 years to buy the car you stole and totaled. You just don't care unless it's all about you.


I always cared. I always had these thoughts about these kinds of things. I never stole a car or robbed a house or anything like that, but I know he did. He told me about his stories. He showed me pictures of his new "treasures" and it broke my heart.


I don't know if Ty is still in jail, and I really don't care.


What's sad is that I know him on a more personal level. I know why he turned into the person he did. He had a shitty past and did drugs to escape it. Then he realized he was good at doing stuff like this and ran with it. The scary thing is that I have multiple friends and old co-workers who know him or have him on their friends list. I want to tell them "he's watching you! He's going to fucking rob you!" but I can't.


This is the other side of meth. Tweakers don't just steal bikes and copper, they do so much more... I don't know who the driver was, but I feel for them. He probably manipulated them too and made grand promises of things that would never happen just so he could get his next high. He told me before that hitting a lick was like a high for him, and he chased it just like drugs.


Ty will always be running from the law until the day he dies. He's married to the game. It's not like all these rap songs about slinging dope in trap houses and robbing people. The reality is so different.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page