top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Tilley

Off the record #5 - Selling my soul

I'm a few days late on this one, but August 7th, 2014 was the first day that I ever touched methamphetamine. It's officially been 5 years since I changed my life.


The night of the incident started out like this (I may have spoken on this part before and if I have, I'm sorry). Michael and I walked down to a local liquor store and we bought some beer. I can't recall what he bought, but I got my favorite beer which was Shocktop. He had just paid me for cleaning his house that day and we were going to celebrate by staying up late, eating cheap Taco Bell, and getting drunk. Something we did quite often, but usually one of us would fall asleep, like the picture below.

The next picture is something meaningless to most people, but it's the one I will never forget.


The sun was setting. We were laying in his bed listening to indie bluegrass music and talking about who we wanted to be in life. Michael was a chef. He graduated from culinary school and could created amazing dishes from nothing. He dreamed of being a chef where he could cook exotic new foods for a living.


I laid there, listening to the cars pass us by and watching the light dance on the pictures on the wall. I never did know what I wanted to be, but I knew I wanted to be free. I wanted to be happy. That's all I cared about.


I remember sitting up and seeing the setting sun catch the glass just right. It was beautiful, so of course, I took a picture of it. I didn't know that the picture I took would be so impactful all these years later.


Sounds clickbait-y doesn't it? "She took a picture of a beer bottle and you'll never guess what happens 5 years later!", haha, sorry.


That afternoon was full of laughter and fun. We watched our favorite episodes of Tosh.0, mine being the "high fashion" week.

We had a joke about "high fashion" because he always wore calf high white socks with black shoes, cargo shorts and a half unbuttoned dress shirt. It was definitely a look, I'll give him that.


As you've read in the previous chapters, you know what happens that night. We stay up late, I meet Matt, and the story goes on from there. One picture I found shows exactly how fast I got bad. This was literally the next day. I sold my vacuum cleaner because I had given Matt all of my money for dope, and we needed more. One day in. I circled the date and you can see the handle of it in the back of my car. I was still coming off of my first high here. All I knew was that everything felt great and I was happy.

Sometimes I look back on this day to see how far I've come and other days all I can see is how fast that everything got really bad. August 7th will always be a dark day for me.Far from a celebration. Although I'm proud to see how far I've come, It will always be the day that I "sold my soul". The night before I said I wanted happiness and freedom. I got it, but not for very long and at such a high price.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page